How BuddyBackup Works

How BuddyBackup Backs Up Your Data

BuddyBackup lets you back up your files to your friends, family and colleagues' computers for free.

This means you get safe and secure online and "off-site" backups of your data without having to pay a third party company.

The following diagram illustrates how BuddyBackup works:Diagram showing how BuddyBackup works

Saving Your Files

Your files are constantly monitored for changes (see 1). When BuddyBackup sees a changed file, it takes a snapshot of it (see 2). This is done efficiently using an advanced  system which means that only the changes within a file are saved (see 3). The technical term for this process is Binary Incremental Backup. For example, if you add a few paragraphs to a large Word document and save, only those changes are saved.

Encryption

The next step is that your files are encrypted (made secret) (see 4). This is done before sending on the internet which means that no else can read your files, not even your buddies!

So, you're the only one that can get back your files and use them.

Read more about security in BuddyBackup here

Backing Up

BuddyBackup sends the updated files to your buddies (see 5) over the internet. Remember that only changes within your files are sent (see above).

BuddyBackup uses advanced Peer-to-Peer technology to ensure you can connect even if your buddies are behind a firewall or router.

If no buddy is currently online, BuddyBackup will keep track of the changes and back them up later.

BuddyBackup uses your internet connection smartly by only using a trickle of your bandwidth when you're using your computer. This means you can continue to work while BuddyBackup is backing up your files.

BuddyBackup doesn't use scheduled times to do the backup - your files are backed up the moment they change meaning you'll never lose a moments work in the event of disaster.

After You've Backed Up

Your backups will continue to sit safely on your buddies' computers.

BuddyBackup regularly checks that your buddies still have your backups. If it discovers a problem, it will automatically backup your files to a different buddy instead. This means you're safe even if a buddy uninstalls BuddyBackup or has a computer failure.

You can also setup BuddyBackup to keep multiple backup copies of your files so you're extra safe. By default, 2 copies of your files are kept, spread among your buddies.

Restoring your files

If you have a disaster, you can easily recover your files by running BuddyBackup from your new computer.

You can do this from a friend's computer using the Guest mode.

This process works similarly to backing up: BuddyBackup connects to your buddies and downloads your files.

Read the Restore Guide here.

Further Information

Read the Frequently Asked Questions

Read about how to setup BuddyBackup

BuddyBackup's intuitive interface and ground breaking feature set make this one of the most important pieces of free software to grace our desks for a long time.

- 5 Stars