BuddyBackup Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » BuddyBackup Forum » Archive
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - FAQ: Keeping local backups
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedFAQ: Keeping local backups

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 01/October/2003
Status: Offline
Points: 68
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FAQ: Keeping local backups
    Posted: 23/June/2009 at 10:12am
Q: What is the "Local Backup" feature?

A: This is where BuddyBackup keeps a local backup copy of your files on the local computer. This is in addition to backing up to your buddies of course!

Q: Why does BuddyBackup keep local copies of my backups?


A: There are several reasons. Firstly, it adds an extra level of protection, meaning you have an extra backup of your data stored locally.

This means you can instantly recover files lost through accident (such as being deleted or overwritten). You can also immediately "roll back" to a previous version from the local backup which is useful if you want to go back in time to an older version of a document.

The second reason is that it allows BuddyBackup to minimise bandwidth when you make changes to files. Thanks to the local copy, if you change a file, BuddyBackup only needs to send the changes you made. So, for example if you added a paragraph to a 10 MB Word document, BuddyBackup would only have to send the paragraph over the internet instead of the whole document again. Without the Local Copy feature, this wouldn't work.

Q: Does BuddyBackup keep Local Backups of all files?

A: No.

By default, BuddyBackup excludes a few directories which are expected to be quite large, and which won't change that often. This includes:
  • Pictures ("My Pictures" on XP)
  • Downloads
  • Music ("My Music" on XP)
Q: Can I change how BuddyBackup keeps local copies?

Yes. You can either turn it off completely, or you can change the directories that you don't want to keep local backups for.

There are a couple of things to bear in mind, though. Without Local Backups:
  • you won't be able to recover files quickly if you accidentaly delete/overwrite files. You can still recover them from your buddies of course.
  • If you make changes to a file, BuddyBackup will have to send the whole new file over the internet
We suggest Turning off Local Backups for files which are large and which rarely change (such as Pictures and Videos).

To turn off completely:
  1. In the BuddyBackup Window, go to "Tools"
  2. Click on "Options"
  3. Click on "Local Copy"
  4. Untick "Keep local backup copies"
To change directories to be excluded:
  1. To add, click the "Add" button
  2. To remove, select the directory and click "Remove"
The directories chosen include everything inside them including other directories. So for example, if you want to exclude a whole hard-drive, select that drive, e.g. "D:\"
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.01
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.