FAQ: Password Reminder
Posted: 13/August/2009 at 9:48am
We recently added a password reminder feature to BuddyBackup.
This was added on 12th August 2009.
Now, when you create a new account, you can choose to save your password securely on the BuddyBackup server. Previously, for security reasons, we would never save your password.
If you save it on the server, then you can ask for a password reminder when you re-install BuddyBackup. This will be sent to your email address.
If you choose not to save it, then you must remember your password. If you don't save it, and you forget your password, you will not be able to restore files from your buddies.
Why would you not want to save your password? If someone gains access to your e-mail address, they could steal or reset your password by asking for a reminder. So, if you want highest security, and don't mind the responsibility of remembering your password, you can untick this box during setup.
Note for earlier Beta participants:
For users who created accounts before 12th August 2009, your passwords were not saved on the server (as this option wasn't available then).
If you want to save your password on the server, see below.
Adding/Removing your Password From the Server
|Forum Jump||Forum Permissions
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum