Advanced Topics

This page describes some of the advanced topics and settings in BuddyBackup.

Local Backups
Removing Backups
Cleaning Backups
Removing Buddies
Blocking Buddies

Local Backups

BuddyBackup keeps some of your files backed up locally onto your hard drive.

This means you can instantly recover files lost accidentally (such as being deleted or overwritten), without having to download from your buddies. You can also immediately "roll back" to a previous version from the local backup which is useful if you want to go back in time to an older version of a document.

The second reason is that it allows BuddyBackup to minimise bandwidth when you make changes to files. Thanks to the local copy, if you change a file, BuddyBackup only needs to send the changes you made. So, for example if you added a paragraph to a 10 MB Word document, BuddyBackup would only have to send the paragraph over the internet instead of the whole document again. Without the Local Copy feature, this doesn't work.

To save space, not all files are backed up locally, however. By default, BuddyBackup excludes a few folders which are expected to be quite large, and which won't change that often. This includes:

  • Pictures ("My Pictures" on XP)
  • Downloads
  • Music ("My Music" on XP)
  • Videos
  • SavedGames

To change which folders have local backups:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Options
  3. Click Advanced
  4. Click Local Backups
  5. Click Add to make a folder stop having local backups
  6. Select an item and click Remove to undo previous settings

You can also turn off local backups completely.

Remember that your bandwidth usage may increase if you disable local backups, and then make regular changes to those files.

To turn off local backups:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Options
  3. Click Advanced
  4. Click Local Backups
  5. Un-tick Keep local backup copies

Back to top


Removing Backups

You can remove backups for any file(s)/folder(s) at any time. When you remove backups:

  • Backups are removed from the local machine
  • Backups are removed from your buddies
  • The selected file(s) will not be backed up in future
  • The original file(s) are not affected

Important: deleting backups means those files are never backed up again in the future. If you're just trying to save some backup space, consider using the Clean Backups Tool instead.

To remove backups using Windows Explorer:

  1. In Windows Explorer, right click on the file/folder you want to remove backups for
  2. Choose Remove from BuddyBackup

To remove backups using the BuddyBackup control panel:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Open the Backup Status tab
  3. Select the file/folders you want to backup (hold down the Ctrl key to select multiple items)
  4. Right click over the selected file(s)
  5. Choose Remove backups

You can also ignore items which have a particular file extension, or which exist in a particular folder name. E.g. you can remove all ".jpg" files, or you can remove files in all folders called "Temp".

This is useful for ignoring lots of files which might be scattered across your PC, without having to manually remove each file.

To remove backups by file extension

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Options
  3. Click the ignored Ignored Items tab
  4. Click the Add button underneath the left hand box
  5. Enter the file extension you want to ignore - e.g. .jpg
  6. Click OK

This will remove all backups which match the file extension. Also, files which match this extension won't be backed up in the future.

To remove backups by folder name

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Options
  3. Click the ignored Ignored Items tab
  4. Click the Add button underneath the right hand box
  5. Enter the folder name you want to ignore - e.g. Music
  6. Click OK

This will remove all files which are inside all folders called "Music", regardless of where they are. Also, files which match this filter won't be backed up in the future.

You can also add folder stuctures seperated by "\". E.g., adding "Music\Bad" will remove all files from folders called "Bad", but only if "Bad" exists in a parent folder called "Music".

Back to top


Cleaning Backups

BuddyBackup keeps historical versions of your files. It does this in an efficient manner called Binary Incremental Backup. This essentially means that only the changes between files are kept. So, the space used is minimal.

However, you may wish to remove older versions of files to reduce your backup space. You can do this using the Remove Old Backups tool.

This tool removes versions of your files which are older than a given date (the “cut-off”). It also removes backups for files which you have manually deleted (but only if they were deleted before the cut-off):

  • Versions of files before the cut-off are removed where possible
  • Backups for files you deleted before the cut-off are removed
  • The latest backed up version is never removed
  • The files will continue to be backed up as normal
  • The original files are unaffected
  • This tool might take several minutes to run.

To run the Remove Old Backups tool:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Remove Old Backups
  3. Enter a number of days (e.g. 30). This is the cut-off date (see above)

Back to top


Removing Buddies

You can remove a backup buddy at any time.

If you do this:

  • All of your backups will be removed from the buddy
  • Your original files won't be affected
  • Backups on other buddies won't be affected
  • BuddyBackup will automatically backup your files again to different buddies if needed

To remove a buddy:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. In the Buddies panel right-click on the buddy you want to remove
  3. Choose Remove Buddy

Note: Removing a buddy does not stop them from backing up to you. It just means BuddyBackup won't backup yourfiles to them.

If you want to actually block a buddy from backing up to you, then please below.

Back to top


Blocking Buddies

You can prevent a buddy from backing up to you.

You can't do this if you have them as a buddy so you will need to remove them first (see above).

Blocking a buddy will remove all of their backups which are stored on your computer.

To block a buddy:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. In the menu at the top, click Tools, Options
  3. Click Buddies
  4. In the box labelled Permitted Users, find the buddy you want to block and select it (click on it)
  5. Press Block

Back to top

BuddyBackup's intuitive interface and ground breaking feature set make this one of the most important pieces of free software to grace our desks for a long time.

- 5 Stars